Owl baby hat

Hi everyone,

I decided to make baby on the way a nice crocheted hat. And what’s cuter than a little baby owl hat?? Not much, that’s for sure. I found a pattern from cre8tion crochet here. When I saw it, I thought it was too cute not to try. Everything was pretty easy to understand, and the pattern is even available up until 5 years old (and you could likely do even larger, if you like). Since the little boy isn’t born yet (and taking into account how old he’ll be in certain colder Canadian months), I opted for the 3-6 month age range for the sizing. I think it’s pretty accurate, except I’d say it’d fit better maybe toward the 6 month range. It obviously depends on the size of his head, but we will see soon enough! Here is a preliminary photo of the hat part complete with the eye part (before being sewn together:

IMG_20130505_154804 (1)

 

It took me a while, but before I attached them I made pupils, sewed the pupils onto the eyes, then the eyes onto the hat. I then made the beak and attached it, then I began the braids. They took me a while, but once I finished the first one the second one wasn’t so difficult. Here are a few images of the final product:

IMG_20130505_172920IMG_20130505_172834 IMG_20130505_172827

 

Peek-a-boo!

IMG_20130505_172856

 

I thought it turned out well. I used all cotton yarn (Bernat’s Handicrafters cotton) for the hat section. The top is a solid green, the bottom half was self-striping yarn with white, green and blue. Unfortunately the way I rolled the ball, it ended up mostly green from that ball too, but hey it still looks cool. Hope you enjoyed the owl hat!

One thought on “Owl baby hat

Leave a Reply

